abstinence

Online meetings + day 2 of abstinence

Nailed abstinence yesterday!  It wasn’t as bad as I thought and I have complete faith that it will get easier with time.  Although a lot or OA-ers disagree with food plans, I feel that it helps to remove some of the mental obsession about what to eat.  It ties into Step 3 – surrender.

Today has OK, although I’ve had some sugar withdrawal symptoms like a headache, nausea and tiredness.  A long nap and a nourishing lunch helped.

Last night I went to an online meeting at http://www.oa12step4coes.org/meetings.html
It was great, I felt so much gratitude for the support that was there.  It’s quite something in the ages of trolls and memes that there’s a place you can go on the interwebs for encouragement and empathy.  It’s not an audio meeting, so you just type.  There are 7 meetings every day!

Here is the schedule converted from ET to GMT

ET (eastern time) » GMT (greenwich mean time)

7:00 am » 12:00 pm
10:30 am » 3:30 pm
2:30 pm » 7:30pm
6:00 pm » 11:00 pm
8:15 pm » 1:15 am
10:30 pm » 3:30 am
12:30 am » 5:30 am


I’ve also found some whatssapp meetings where you can connect with people from all around the world who share in text or voice notes.  I listened to a lot of shares then messaged people who I really related to, and as a result have some new OA’ers to text for help or to just vent.  The internet is great!

The point of all of this is that I am building a big support and accountability network around myself so I’m less likely to just slip of the map and go into a week long binge-fest.  Reading the Big Book with my sponsor today, the importance of service and fellowship really leaped (lept?) out at me.  Service is not just a nice thing to do, it’s ESSENTIAL for recovery and to prevent relapse.  Fellowship too is not optional; as Bill says on p.15:

“When all other measures failed, work with another alcoholic would save the day.  Many times I have gone to my old hospital in despair.  On talking to a man there, I could be amazingly lifted up and set on my feet.  It is a design for living that works in rough going.”

Much love x

Leave a Reply

