abstinence

Food Plan + day 3 of abstinence

I thought I’d post my food plan so perhaps I’d be less inclined to tinker with it.  It’s fairly flexible and seems to be working.  I also have red, yellow and green light foods – I don’t eat the reds, can eat the yellows in controlled portions, and I don’t worry too much about the greens.  I’m sad to say that nut butters are relegated to the red zone, as I just can’t control myself with a jar and a spoon :(.


Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 14.51.19

I’ve probably made it more complicated than it needs to be as it’s all interchangeable.  Essentially it is 3 meals a day with an optional snack, with a serving each of carbs, fat, protein and fruit or veggies.

Here is my red-yellow-green foods list (in a fancy traffic light themed table!)


Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 15.18.11

You might notice that there is no meat or fish in there.  I’m not keen on either and and prefer not eating them, so I just left them out.  My sponsor says that I don’t need to put every single food on there, just the ones I like and the ones I have a problem with.

Day 3 of abstinence is going OK, I have done ZERO exercise (even walking) though.  It’s cold and wet and I’m just tired.  But it’s OK.  As long as I’m sober and abstinent I have achieved something.

Despite the entire lack of any movement which could constitute as exercise, I found myself quite hungry and had a decent sized snack a few hours after lunch.  I don’t know whether it was completely ‘true’ hunger or a bit of craving, but I didn’t overeat and my appetite is now gone.  I did reach out before eating, to vent to some OA buddies and to my sponsor, so I am happy that I didn’t go straight to the food without thinking about it.  Progress, not perfection!

I’ll end with a wise quote about surrender from the AA 12 & 12 on p.34:

Practicing Step Three is like the opening of a door which to all appearances is still closed and locked.  All we need is a key, and the decision to swing the door open.  There is only one key, and it is called willingness.  Once unlocked by willingness, the door opens almost of itself, and looking through it, we shall see a pathway beside which us an inscription.  It reads: “This is the way to a faith that works.”

 

Peace and serenity to you x

Leave a Reply

